Running: Fit It Into Your Lifestyle

As runners we often need to make time for our runs, but the longer they get, the harder it becomes. The long run is the staple for any distance training plan & really shouldn’t be missed if you want to turn up on race day on top form. So when time becomes limited & motivation starts to wonder you need to mix it up. Find a way to balance it & ensure you can make the time & focus to get out there.

 

Make yourself accountable

When it comes to pushing yourself a little harder, the long run can be a daunting prospect. But you’ll be surprised what you can achieve when you need to. Sometimes all it needs is you to put a little bit of pressure or responsibility on yourself. Live far from work, have plans to watch the football or have a drink with friends on a weekend? Why not leave early & run there. That is exactly the way I got my distance back on track during my Race To The Stones 100km training last July.

I was struggling to find time to get my long runs in & when I could have made time, I made excuses. But, there came a point when I realised it was seriously jeopardising my ability to run 100km. I can be a stubborn & determined individual at times. So, after a friend at work bet me £20 that I wouldn’t complete the Ultra marathon, I told myself I’d prove him wrong. I left my spare clothes at work in my locker & set the alarm clock for 4am. I got up, had a cold shower, got ready, got my running gear on & set off for work. With 30km [just shy of 20 miles] to cover, I was a little hesitant how it would go, given I had been out injured for 3 weeks & hadn’t covered that distance before. But I was pleasantly surprised. I left by 4:30 to give me plenty of time to get there & allow for me to have to walk in case of injury or not being able to cover the distance running. I hadn’t trained enough, in theory, to be able to do it. But the fresh morning air, sunset, banging playlist & mental clarity was all I needed to spur me on. The result was something amazing. It was the start of my love affair with running. It was the first time I really enjoyed my running. Maybe it was getting out in the country side; the cold air in the morning, when the rest of the world is sleeping & you’re feeling great; watching a sun rise while you have perfect mental clarity, a new positive outlook on life & refreshing motivation. The sense of achievement was staggering & it definitely helped make me carry on. Who cares what the reason is? From that day on I’ve seen running as an escape, a way to channel my stresses & rejuvenate my soul.

Because of it, I have become a much stronger person; physically & mentally. My mind is clear, I have been able to take total control back of my life & have the mentality to do anything I put my mind to. That perspective is invaluable. I feel in control of my destiny & I feel lucky that running taught me it.

 

The best thing about it? Anyone can get that control too.

Waking up early & committing myself, I was able to put any anxiety to the back of my mind & let me stubborn determination get me through the distance & I loved it. It was simple really. Giving yourself no way of backing out, you’ll show yourself what you’re really capable of. When self-doubt, quitting & lack of motivation to run long disappear, you will go further than you have before & you’ll enjoy it. That’s the trick to running. If you enjoy it, you will find it a lot easier. The rest is about all more miles. It’s important to remember though, miles on your feet & enjoyment are the key. For that reason you shouldn’t bring added stress/pressure into your running. If you need to walk parts that’s fine; it isn’t a negative at all. It all helps strengthen you. Give yourself plenty of time to get where you’re going & plan for injury or walking, when you’re going further than you have before. You should take positives from every run, even if you learned to accept/overcame a problem. The positive reflections on your runs keep you in the right state of mind to enjoy it & to sustain motivation over a long training plan.

Make it social

Going out/meeting friends or running somewhere for lunch/coffee/drinks after a run also gives you a great sense of self-gratification. Rewarding yourself with positive experiences post-run helps make you feel great about your running & makes you all the more likely to carry on finding ways to fit it in.

 

I hope this helps you reaffirm a love of running. Read “Run To Escape, Be Happy & Love Running” to see more about how to learn to not only enjoy, but love your running & become a better, happier person.

 

Happy

 

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Hey, your blog seems really cool. Good read! I’m Kyle, I’m looking to give up alcohol for 3 months as a social experiment, and also to get in good shape! You can check out and follow my progress if you wish. Enjoy your day, will look out for your posts !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. TylerJames91 says:

      I’ve just seen. All the best of luck. If you want any nutrition, PT, performance coaching advice, just ask. I don’t always have the most spare time, but I will get back to you! Wait until you start to see life with a new perspective!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. annette92 says:

    Awesome post! Glad to have “run” across your blog. Keep it up! – https://runningvibesblog.wordpress.com/

    Like

    1. TylerJames91 says:

      Thank you & I must say I love yours. Just been having a look, some great content! Couldn’t see an option to leave a comment though. Good work!

      Like

Leave a comment